Primary choir take centre stage

December 8, 2009 at 4:27 pm (General Information)

After beating the tough competition Calverley C of E Primary School were the winners of our 2009 Choir Competition. The all-important prize was to sing live on stage at Leeds Grand Theatre, on the opening night of A Christmas Carol. There couldn’t have been a better way to kick off the festive season. To see footage of their performance keep checking our advent calendar on the NBT homepage. Here is what some of the children thought of their experience:

Great excitement from the choir as we pulled up outside the Grand Theatre.  We were all thrilled to be there.  We went in and Stephanie took us to the studio.  We had a practice in the studio and on the stage. It was huge! There were about 1000 seats.  We went back downstairs and waited for the performances to start. At 7.00pm the curtain went up and there were about 1000 faces looking up at us. I think we were all scared but so excited!

We all enjoyed it and would love the opportunity to do it again.

By Amy Whitley


There was great excitement. The curtains opened, I was so nervous.  We sang my most favourite Christmas song of all time, Holy Child/ In the Darkness.  The audience cheered and clapped.  I was so proud of myself and my friends.  I could see in the corner of my eye mums saying “Good Work!” and giving us thumbs up.  There was 1000 people watching us and believe me that was a marvellous experience.  I honestly couldn’t believe we were performing at the Grand Theatre in front of 1000 people.

Thank you for this opportunity. If it wasn’t for Mrs Weeks and Mrs Putsman I would of just been dreaming about it.  It was amazing!!!

By Alice Ruth Turk

Leave a Reply

