Young choristers still singing praises…

December 9, 2009 at 3:52 pm (General Information) (, , , , , )

Pupils from Calverley C of E Primary School are still feeling the excitement after singing at Leeds Grand Theatre on the opening night of A Christmas Carol. See what two more of their pupils had to say about the whole experience:

In the competition it was hard work and lots of choir practice on the two carols.  We spent two hours trying to record the song.  It was worth it.  Getting into the final was the best experience EVER!

John (the music director from the Northern Ballet Theatre) came and did a workshop with us.  Then on Wednesday 26.11.09 we went to West Park for the competition.  I liked listening to all the other choirs singing and seeing what they thought of us.  I was so thrilled when we won, I couldn’t tell you.

 At the Grand it was really big backstage with lots of dressing rooms.  We saw lots of props and costumes of the dancers and we had a practice before we went on.  Behind the curtain was nerve racking as we waited for the curtain to rise.  Surprisingly I wasn’t nervous when the curtain went up I just sung my best and was proud of my achievements.  When the songs ended I was really proud of myself and my school.

 By Naomi Calvert

 

Singing at the competition in front of 4 other school choirs was quite nerve racking because it was the first time I’d performed in front of people at a singing performance. So I was relieved when I sat down with the others.  I was so surprised when they called out our school as the winners.

 At the Grand we practised a couple of times and then it was the real thing. The curtain went up and 2000 eyes were on us.  This was our only chance to sing well.  Mrs Putsman was delighted at how well we sang and so was I. 

We all had a really great time singing at the Grand.

 By Jessica Edwards

Leave a Reply

