Work Experience at Northern Ballet Theatre

December 15, 2009 at 4:08 pm (General Information, Interviews) (, , , , )

Jasmine Barber is a Leeds Met student, studying for a Masters degree in Public Relations. She has been doing a one-day-per-week work placement at Northern Ballet Theatre since September. She tells us about her experience to-date.

“My name’s Jasmine and I’ve been on placement in the Media & PR department of NBT for the last few months. After completing three long years studying for a degree in Education at the University of Hertfordshire, I decided I wanted a complete career change and applied for a Masters in Public Relations at Leeds Met.

“The minute I got the acceptance letter for my MA my first thought was that I needed to do some work experience because the competition for PR jobs is fierce. Initially, I researched PR Agencies in Leeds and wrote to a couple, it wasn’t until someone mentioned to me that Northern Ballet Theatre often took on students that I decided to e-mail Laraine, Head of Media & PR here at NBT. Having danced pretty much my whole life until I was 18, I was really excited and hopeful that Laraine would get back to me. Thankfully she did and I have been at NBT one day a week ever since.

“The experience I have gained so far has been fantastic; I have had the opportunity to write press releases, draft an internal newsletter, attend road shows, write for the blog, file press cuttings, collate press quotes and I have learned so much from just being in a professional environment watching what goes on on a day-to-day basis. My highlight so far has definitely been the press launch for A Christmas Carol. Not only was it amazing to watch the show and see it all come to life, but it was great getting first-hand experience meeting the press.

“At NBT no two days are ever the same and being here has really helped me gain a much better understanding of PR and how important it is – and how much work goes into it! My time here has confirmed that PR is the career I want to pursue and has also helped me conclude that I would like to work in-house for a company or organisation one day. I’m so thankful I have been given the opportunity to work at the NBT, not only has everyone been so welcoming and friendly towards me but they have also taught me so many things that will be so beneficial when it comes to my future in PR.”

Leave a Reply

