Memories in the Making

December 22, 2009 at 11:31 am (Friends News, Fundraising) (, )

2009 has been a wonderful year for Northern Ballet Theatre and a chance to reflect on our many achievements over the past 40 years. We asked some of our contacts in the press to tell us about their favourite NBT moments and memories and these are just a few:

Jayne Regan’s amazingly poignant Juliet – when she curls into a foetal position at her death the audience sat in stunned silence, apart from sobs, before the roars of approval; the moment when the thunderstorm breaks and the rain pelts down over the body of Tybalt and Lady Capulet; Jeremy Kerridge’s dazzling Mercutio and inimitable Scrooge; Denis Malinkine gliding down the staircase in the Brotherston designed Dracula; Keiko Amemori dancing in despair as doomed Butterfly in Nixon’s powerful solo; the marvellous score for A Christmas Carol with its live voices and final snow scene; the inventive sets and Miss Havisham perched on her conch-like tower in Great Expectations; Jonathan Olivier smouldering in leather as Heathcliff; the train puffing out of the station and all the brilliant slapstick of A Midsummer Night’s Dream; Michael Pink’s haunting Strange Meeting.

I will never forget when I was with the company in Istanbul with Romeo &Juliet and we heard of Princess Diana’s death. Christopher came on stage in the amphitheatre overlooking the Bosphorus and paid tribute to her. It was pouring with rain and thousands of people were wearing plastic macs provided by the venue and all you could hear was dripping and sobbing. The next day we went to the British Consulate for a service. Members of the orchestra played and in the book of condolence Massimo Moricone wrote: “Amor Vincit Omnia”.
Stephanie Ferguson
Dance Critic and member of the Critics Circle

I remember the first time I saw NBT’s Dracula when it premiered in 2005. It was also the first ballet my partner had seen and he came out of it absolutely entranced. I love it when I invite someone who has never considered going to see dance before and they come out of it inspired and completely transformed in their views. The absorbing sensuality of NBT’s Dracula remains a sure hit for such occasions.
Ali Schofield, Leeds Guide, Plush Magazine

I have many favourite moments watching NBT, but I particularly love David Nixon’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I think the solo where Hippolyta is saying a heartbreaking farewell to her dancing shoes is very moving and wonderful. I also love the way the studio converts into a train in seconds, and the frantic foursome with Helena and co is very funny.
David Bellan, Oxford Times

I have always loved the Northern Ballet Theatre’s version of A Christmas Carol and always look forward to seeing that at Christmas. It’s such a lovely show and makes me feel really festive. My sister worked behind the scenes on the show, back in the early 1990s, and I first went to see it then. It blew me away. I’m sad that I never got to see A Simple Man but I have loved many other productions, particularly Peter Pan – a great show for children – and Romeo & Juliet which is one of the most moving ballets I’ve ever seen.
Emma Clayton, Telegraph & Argus

Leave a Reply

